Toward Publishing (X7)

Posted for Sam Brooks by Joe Harris

It was difficult looking for a website to publish a “Sam Brooks” essay on.  I say this because I never imagined I would ever even consider publishing something that I have written.  After looking across the web for a while I found Slice Magazine. I decided I liked this website the best because it seemed to have a younger persons feel, as well as a section for specific issue areas that would be perfect for what I want to turn my writing from this class in to. I wrote two pieces about my love for the west, specifically the great state of Wyoming.  I also made my class pick an essay that gets the reader in touch with the wild world through national parks.  I decided that if I was going to publish a piece it was going to make a difference.  So I want to combine my experiences in Wyoming and their meaning to me, in addition to the fact that the national parks and other protected lands make this joy possible.  I want people who don’t know anything about it to yearn for a trip to Yellowstone or Yosemite.  And Slice magazine seems to be the perfect platform to reach out to people to inspire them to protect these wild places.  There are lands that are still at threat of human harm.  But the more people write about it the more hope there is.

 

The second website I would use would be figment. I decided I would also like to publish my piece “Rink Think” about the time I spent thinking and feeling different emotion during my brothers hockey game.  This piece starts to get into my view on growing up and moving through the different stages of your life.  I believe the message is that everything comes back together and you grow in different ways as you experience things in different ways.  I chose figment because I researched good places to publish to teens since this piece is about my growth through the stage of lives these kids are about to experience.

About Joe Harris

I teach composition, creative nonfiction, and digital writing at the University of Delaware.
This entry was posted in Assignments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

